05
Jan
11

excuse #11: “i seriously have no motivation!”

excuse busted:

  • dig deep: identify what it is that drives you every day to get out of bed.  maybe it’s your kiddos or a career that completely fulfills you.  then put some thought into how being healthier would enhance that part of your life.  you’ll be able to be more active with your kids – or you’ll miss less work and be more productive if you’re not sick, tired, and worn out.  make that emotional connection and then write it down (see “motivation” section in 12-week planning of the fitbook)
  • get connected.  whether it’s finding a gym buddy or joining online forums, it helps to have a support system in place.  fitbookers unite on facebook, twitter, and of course there’s our monthly newsletter with recipes and motivation, as well as my blog which you can subscribe to where my goal is to connect with others and just be real. 
  • treat yourself!  nothing invigorates workouts sometimes like a new pair of running shoes or even just a few new songs from itunes.  set small, challenging yet attainable weekly goals, and then reward yourself for reaching them so you stay motivated daily to reach each weekly goal.  bonus: doing nice things for yourself makes you happy – and happy people make healthy choices.
  • focus on the positive.  always thinking about how many pounds you have to lose or dwelling on the dessert you scarfed down last weekend?  these negative thoughts will only derail your future success.  instead of thinking about the 6 more lbs you want to lose, give yourself credit for the 3 you’ve already lost.  or rather than focusing on the desert that you ate, give yourself props for waking up the next day and going for a nice long walk.  positivity breeds success!

 [have more ideas on creative ways to bust this excuse - share with fellow fitbookers and comment below]

read the entire excuse buster series here! 
have an excuse we missed? do tell and we’ll bust it!

your sharp shooter,
angela

3 Responses to “excuse #11: “i seriously have no motivation!””


  1. 01.06.11 at 9:30 pm

    I like what you said in the 3rd paragraph about focusing on the positive. Thanks!

  2. 2 Kimberly Mills
    01.23.11 at 4:03 pm

    I spent the last 10 months busting all those excuses when I joined Lifetime fitness. Since I started last March at the age of 48, I have lost 58 lbs and 22% bodyfat!!! I have become an athlete for the first time in my entire life running 5Ks. I will be competing in an indoor tri next month, do my first 10K in April, and start training this summer for my first half marathon in the fall. I never imagined I would love working out as much as I do. But you can ask my trainer, I am absolutley addicted. Ordered your fitbook on amazon today. Looking forward to using it as it looks a lot better than the ones I have been using the past year.


Leave a Reply

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

blog archives

recent @fitbook tweets:

get fitbook!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,357 other followers

