03
Mar
09

week 5 pics + supplements!

so here i am 8 weeks out! whaddya think of the blue bikini? i’m trying on all the different ones to see which one i like best! each week i’ll try on a new one and then i’m gonna poll all my blog readers to see which one is the favorite. they’re all so pretty and sparkly!

one other thing that changed today, which i forgot to mention, is that my trainer has added more supplements 8 weeks out so that i keep all the muscle i have so i don’t look like a little string bean! so for the past 4 weeks i’ve been taking the following supplements:

  • multivitamin – of course!…everyone should take one and i swear by it. i haven’t been sick in almost 2 years (nock on wood!).
  • psyllium husks – basically these little oat-looking flakes, that i add to my oatmeal in the morning for added fiber.
  • l-glutamine – 5mg added to my pre and post-workout protein shakes to aid in preserving lean muscle mass during intense training.
  • omega 3’s – i guess these are good for my nervous system or something, but all i know is that it’s better than eating a ton of fish…even though i usually eat it at least once a day anyway.

so here’s what fun fun things i started taking today:

  • creatine – i thought this was for boys…super buff bodybuilding boys, but the more i’ve learned it’s just basically necessary for me to keep the muscles i have while i’m dieting down, and also help build strength too. don’t worry mom – i won’t look all bulky and gross…just super lean and muscular (hopefully!). i have to take TEN of these darn things a day…and they are ginormous horse pills! so 5 throughout the day with meals and 5 right before my workout. gag…
  • ZMA – so i really should have been taking these the last 4 weeks (oops!) but i’ll be taking these right before bed…only catch is that i can’t take them with dairy so that definitely puts a kink in my greek yogurt and blueberries before bed!  i guess that they will increase anabolic hormone levels (like i need more hormones!), muscle strength, and they’re supposed to help me sleep better too!
  • BCAA’s (branch chain amino acids) – another little something to add to my protein shakes before and after my workout that basically breaks down this boat-load of protein i’m taking in to build muscle tissue.

so i realized that i had given the scoop on the workouts and nutrition – but wanted to make sure i give insight into this entire process, including my supplements. i can tell ya one thing – taking all the supplements does help get the water down faster! which i must say – i’m so proud that i only have a few sips left of my gallon before i head to bed. so nice to not have 1/2 a liter sitting there while i’m blogging! little highlight to my day: one of my friends at the gym noticed how my lats and shoulders are filling in so i guess something i’m doing is working!

4 Responses to “week 5 pics + supplements!”


  1. 03.03.09 at 3:01 pm

    You look amazing!
    I know you work hard with both your diet and training, I’m inspired by you! (Logging my Fitbook every day now – woohoo!)

  2. 03.06.09 at 11:15 pm

    The pictures look great. I bought the fitbook at the beginning of this year and have since been following your blog.
    You’re training program is crazy! I love reading about all the changes you are having to deal with. I didn’t realize there was so much involved.
    I love the “sunburned barbie” comment.
    Congratulations on what you’ve accomplished so far! Keep at it!

  3. 3 Leah Minick
    03.20.09 at 1:18 am

    Question, how much creatine are you taking? You are looking fantastic!! Hang in there and those muscles are really going to pop!!
    Your livin the dream,
    Leah

  4. 03.20.09 at 2:15 am

    thank you!!! i’m taking 6000mg per day…with 3000 right before my workout (5 pills!!) and then i spread the other 5 pills out throughout the day. on off days i take 5 in the morning with breakfast and 5 at night with dinner. thanks for encouragement…i appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

blog archives

get fitbook!

