24
Mar
09

week 8 pics + road warrior

given that i’ve been traveling now since saturday i almost completely spaced taking my 8 week pics – luckily i remembered to pack my sparkly bikini!  however, i usually try and take my pics before i eat dinner and these are taken post quite possibly the largest salad i’ve ever eaten (recipe to follow!).  thanks to my mom, i have my 8 week photos and then of course one of me being silly showing off my muscles for the camera. 

so as i said, i’m back at home in colorado for a few days for fitlosophy (new fitbooks printing!) and i’m happily spending tons of time with my family too!  i must say that even though i had to be ultra-prepared with all my supplements and protein, being back home and sticking to my workouts and food has been easier than expected with all the credit going to my family.  they are all so supportive and even though this whole competition is a little out of their element – they have all gone out of their way to make it easy for me!  my mom even said she was just so happy to see me in person and see how fit i am and that i’m not too thin.  and then after they see just how much food i actually consume, i think they all understand now that i’m quite healthy – just really strict and focused!  mom had chicken breasts and asparagus stocked in the fridge…dad is my gym partner…my sister-in-law has gone out of her way to prepare special little versions of her food just for me…and my brother…well he’s done a great job of distracting me from my work with our ms. pacman battles (which by the way i’m losing horribly).  i’m so blessed to have a family that supports me and my goals regardless of what it is.  they know it’s important to me and that’s enough….i know that’s unusual, especially with something like a figure competition where everything is so structured! 

the eating has been easier than i expected.  breakfast is my oats (which i brought!) and just egg whites – but i did have to make a run for my almond milk as i wasn’t looking forward to toting that on the plane and having it explode.  then i just had my brother run me to sprouts to grab greek yogurt, blueberries, and apples for my snacks, and then either we grab lunch when we’re out and about (salad with chicken – that’s pretty much my staple) and then my wonderful-cook-of-a-sister-in-law has made amazing homecooked meals for us!  she’s lebanese so the first night she made my favorite – tawook chicken and fatoush salad.  the tawook is just chicken breast in garlic and spices (red pepper and sumac) and fatoush (my absolute favorite!) is a traditional lebanese salad with lettuce, cucumber, tomato, oregano, mint, onions, jalapeno and then the spices….and the dressing is just lemon juice and a teeny tiny drizzle of olive oil.  given that i’ve been eating salad for at least 1-2 meals per day for the last 8 weeks, i’m more than excited to have an exciting new salad that is my favorite so she taught me to make it!  here’s how i made it yesterday for lunch – just added a can of tuna – and…bada bing we have tuna fatoush!  here’s the recipe…credits to my sister rita!

tuna fatoush
**note: she doesn’t really measure anything so you may have to play with it a bit to get the taste you love!
1) in a big bowl mix together a 1/2 cup each of diced tomatos, sliced cucumbers, thinly sliced onions, and 2 cups mixed greens (sliced)
2) add in maybe 1 tbsp each of fresh oregano and mint, along with a bit of finely chopped jalapeno
3) drain a small can of tuna (packed in water, not oil) and add it to the salad
4) for the dressing add the following: 1 tsp olive oil, juice from 1/2 a fresh squeezed lemon, 1 tsp salt, and then add  just a dash of sumac (try finding it in a middle eastern market) and red pepper (or paprika)…i actually like a lot of the red pepper but it makes it spicy!!
5) use your hands to toss the salad (you must do this because this is how she does it and it’s part of the recipe – and it’s made with love!)…then add to a bowl and sprinkle with just a dash more red pepper because it’s pretty.

servings: 1 (big big salad!!)
calories: 306
protein:  46g
fat: 6.7g

how do i know the calories?  check out my little recipe tool online that i found…you enter the ingredients and it calculates everything for you!

anyway – enjoy this yummy salad…i’m hooked!  so…that’s how the eating is going.  the workouts are great too: i planned the trip so i could workout before i left saturday, then sunday my active rest was trapsing around the mall all day with my mom and sister-in-law, and then today i hit the gym around 4pm and dad met me there around 5.  all i can say is that the 5280′ altitude here in colorado definitely kicked my butt today!  i did my chest/back workout with my dreaded never-ending lunges…and i was happy the gym out here had the arm slings so i could do my leg lift ab workout (or try anyway – it’s tough!!).  then i did my 30m incline walking on the treadmill and was super happy because my dad joined me and it flew by as we chatted 90-t0-nothin’.  i wish all my cardio went by that fast!

so all in all: very pleased with how the trip is going as it concerns to my eating and workouts.  tomorrow will entail getting to meet up with my fitbook manufacturers and see how production is coming along, which will be fun!  orders are picking up so we’re right on time for production and i’m excited to have the ‘problem’ of watching inventory to make sure we don’t run out!!   then after my meetings tomorrow i’ll hit the gym for biceps and i’m just so looking forward to doing my treadmill mountain climbers at my parent’s gym.  at least at my gym people are used to seeing me do weird things…it will be fun to watch people’s faces at least!  wednesday i have off from the gym and then thursday morning, back to california!  the best part of this trip: definitely being with my family.  i’m so behind on work and things with fitlosophy just get more and more exciting everyday – which means more work!  but i’m also very well aware that time spent with my family is just more important.  they keep me grounded…they remind me of what’s important in life.  so while i will keep up on email and i do work when i can – i’ve just resigned to the fact that nothing is so important that it can’t wait until i kick my brother’s butt at ms. pacman.
wish me luck!

3 Responses to “week 8 pics + road warrior”


  1. 03.25.09 at 6:35 am

    You seem to be in a good mood, and you have a reason for sure, you look great!!!
    (You’re blessed with the most kind family..!)

    I’ve started my first week on a “makeover journey” this week..good thing I’ve found your blog, lots of information and inspiration!

  2. 03.25.09 at 6:44 pm

    You look great!
    I’m happy to hear your family is so supportive. It sure helps in getting that extra little bit in. The support is something you can fall back on when you need some extra motivation.
    Good luck at Pacman!!
    Very happy to hear that Fitbook is really going well. I love mine and the company I work for is putting them out to all the employees. I had bought one on my own before, so I’m excited to get a new one for the next stage of my workout program.

  3. 3 Shana
    03.25.09 at 7:47 pm

    Hey Ang, Looking good, wow I wish I had abs like that. You’re so good at the whole self-control thing, if I were at the mall I’d have a hard time not eating all the stuff in the food court! Wish you luck with everything.


Leave a Reply

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

blog archives

recent @fitbook tweets:

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

get fitbook!

