07
Apr
09

3 weeks out: pics + tweaks!

3 weeks out…there’s no turning back now! here are my pics…can you tell i got some sun this weekend? a little but not much! apparently i need to have a base tan even before we paint me to look like a human oil slick. so check out my pics – see if you can find any junior mints lurking in my abs somewhere…ha ha!


i’m kinda glad I had a rough weekend and that i’m totally geared up and focused now – i’m gonna need it. i got the run-down on my diet and workout tweaks for the next two weeks which can be summed up in a few words: hungry + cardio! here is the jist of what i’ll be eating every day for the next 2 weeks:

meal 1: ¼ cup dry oats with ½ cup almond milk, 5 egg whites + 1 egg with yolk
meal 2: ½ cup greek yogurt or cottage cheese and 4 strawberries or ¼ cup blueberries
meal 3 (pre -workout): 4oz white meat and 2 cups veggies (no dressing – just lemon!)
meal 4 (post-workout): protein shake and either ½ grapefruit or a small apple
meal 5: 4oz fish and 2 cups veggies
meal 6: protein pudding

super clean – no condiments, no spray butter, no salad dressing, no nothin’! although i do get one teeny tiny tablespoon of splenda per day, and i get to keep my cream in my coffee but max of 2 tablespoons per day, which is what i’ve been doing anyway. surprisingly, salt and pepper are fine thank goodness! the only other tweak is that on my heavy leg day she gives me a little more carbs by upping meal #3 to include 5oz of fish and either ½ cup quinoa or sweet potatoes. her words exactly: “plain, no frills, no condiments, etc…we need to level out the sodium, bloating, and eliminate all the little extra calories. load up on tea and water.” to that point: why all the water you might ask? because if you don’t drink water you’re STARVING! the water really does help and i think that my struggles on the weekends are directly related to not drinking all my water! one final bummer of a tweak: no eating out at all for the next 3 weeks…even though i can eat clean at most places, you just never know what’s in the food so basically i will be one of two places for the next three weeks: the gym or home!
so…onto my tweaks at the gym:

*upper body workout pretty much stays the same, and with abs and my lunge workout – it should only take 45m max…which leads me to my internal reminder that for the next 3 weeks especially – no talking while working out…focus!

*she wants me decrease the weight on my lunges that i do 3 days a week. i’ve been doing 25# dumbbells and she wants me to drop to only 10# to keep from tearing up the muscle anymore.

*we’re moving my leg workout day to wednesday now instead of thursday – and now thursday will be a cardio only day plus a hard ab workout day. that’s right – only 1 off day (sunday) now so wednesday legs, followed by Thursday cardio-only.

*and cardio…cardio, cardio, cardio. so if anyone is looking for me – i’ll be at the gym on either the treadmill doing incline walking or the stepmill for 1 hour every day for the next 3 weeks (except sunday of course). she wants me to do low/med intensity (around 140 heartrate) and on my cardio only day she said i can do either my 20m sprints or treadclimbers (oh joy!) and then do 40m steady state so i can mix it up a bit.

so there are my tweaks at 3 weeks out….fun! basically i will be drinking water like crazy to keep from being hungry and i will be catching up on all my magazine reading on the stepmill! i did my first day of hour-long cardio tonight at the gym and holy camoly an hour is a long time!! i read through almost 2 magazines and luckily had a friend there to gab with me through the last 10m…it was rough. 140 seems like a low heart rate but anything moving for an hour is just killer. the reason for doing such long bouts of cardio at medium intensity is to basically burn calories (428 to be exact!) at a low enough intensity where i’m not burning muscle. the hope is to get me to 9-10% body fat while maintaining all the muscle i have. which reminds me – stats update: 105 lbs and 12.8% body fat.

one of my biggest challenges – and probably the MOST important – is getting my much-needed rest. the hot tea before bed is brilliant…fills you up and relaxes you for bed! which, by the way, i got 10 hours of sleep last night (yay me!)…i was in bed with my book and hot tea by 9pm and out by 9:30…and still couldn’t wake up at 6:30! of course that could be in part to getting only 3-4 hours the two nights before…but for the next 3 weeks i’m IN bed by 10…no phone, no laptop…just me, my tea, and my book!  i’m actually really excited…I can do this for two weeks! the last week will be completely different workouts and eating and i think she actually eases up on me a bit…so two weeks is all. this is where the warning for friends and family comes in: there’s a fairly good chance i’ll be moody so please do not take it personal! i’ll try and seclude myself so as not to be a grouch. all i know is that I’ve always been cranky when i’m hungry so i’m assuming the worst here and it’s probably fairly accurate to say that i’m not exactly going to be a peach to be around. the countdown begins…

4 Responses to “3 weeks out: pics + tweaks!”


  1. 04.07.09 at 1:46 pm

    Holy cow! With all those tweaks, I’m glad you only have 3 weeks left. Sounds like cardio and you are going to become great friends. haha! Pics look great! I went back to see some old ones and you’ve certainly changed a lot. Congrats!

  2. 04.07.09 at 2:22 pm

    Not a junior-mint in sight! You’re doing fine!

  3. 3 LaNi
    04.07.09 at 8:47 pm

    Definition. Yikes girl. Good job! Your hard work is paying off.

  4. 4 Carlos
    04.08.09 at 5:28 am

    “1/18” morning line favorite. Due to the extremely low odds, there will not be place or show wagering.

    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

blog archives

get fitbook!

