01
May
09

by request: before + after pics

i meant to do this before…here are pics so you can see my progress over the 12 weeks!  before i was at 112 with 15% body fat and at competition i was 104 with 11.5% body fat.  it’s kinda hard to tell as much with the bathing suit i had on in my one week pics (or as kim called it, my granny suit!)…but you can see the muscle definition development.  plus it would help if i knew how to pose in the first week – but you can see how my shoulders and lats really came in and my legs and but were a lot more toned.  important point: i like how i looked before…this was never about losing weight or changing my body for any other purpose than to reach a personal goal.  this whole process has taught me a lot about myself, some negative but mostly positive, and i just want to make it clear that it doesn’t matter what you look like on the outside if you aren’t happy on the inside.  it’s tough reaching this level of physical fitness because you want to maintain it – but you know it’s nearly impossible to stay this way all the time.  what i want people to see when they look at my before and after pics, aside from the inches i lost or the muscle i gained (which of course you’ll notice – hello!)…i want people to know just how much i grew during this experience…how for the first time in my life i was completely and utterly proud of myself and comfortable in my own skin.  i’ve always had certain aspects of my life that were easy for me: business, school…anything that took hard work – i knew i could put the time in and achieve anything.  but something like this is much more personal – it’s just you out there and whether people know it or not, i’m extremely shy and self-conscious in those situations.  THAT is why i was so embarassed – on the verge of tears really – after the pre-judging because i was just so nervous.  but that is also why i am so proud of myself.  i went back out there during the finals and did my best and was me.  the fun, flirty and confident me.  to be myself in that environment when you really put yourself out there…well i was just pretty darn proud of myself. so in closing – yes it is pretty cool to see the physical changes take place over the past 12 weeks and i’m going to challenge myself to keep enhancing my level of fitness…but the changes that took place inside me far outweigh any physical transformation.  hopefully everyone can apply this to their own life and know that it’s not about what you look like but how you feel about yourself.  once you can develop that positive self image and know you’re worth taking care of – the physical changes you’re seeking will soon follow.  ok…enough of my dr. phil moment…i was feeling inspired. 🙂

4 Responses to “by request: before + after pics”


  1. 05.01.09 at 4:59 pm

    Wow! There is a huge difference.
    I guess when we see pictures every couple weeks it’s a gradual change. Seeing the complete change is amazing! You should be very proud of yourself Angela! Following your blog from close to the beginning of the competition you’ve taught me a lot about sticking with something you really want. From being shy and self-conscious, you’ve come a long ways strutting onstage in that bikini.
    Congratulations on so many levels.

  2. 2 Lotta
    05.01.09 at 5:07 pm

    You’ve got reason to be proud, girl! And you look fab, both before and after!

  3. 3 Shana
    05.01.09 at 6:14 pm

    Wow, amazing! How cool to see how the definition really came through. I’d love to get that tone! Maybe after I’m done with these little kidos. Thanks for the blog, I loved reading about your journey. Miss you.

  4. 4 Marcia
    05.03.09 at 8:23 pm

    Angela,

    I’m back in Denver and catching up on all your unbelievable achievements. I’m so proud of you – and a little jealous to be honest. Oh, if only I could be so disciplined. You look gorgeous before and after. Most importantly, your INNER beauty always shines through.

    Congrats on kicking ass in this competition. Love, Marcia


Leave a Reply

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

blog archives

recent @fitbook tweets:

get fitbook!

